I saw the mountains today without you. I wept, not from missing you, but knowing you’d never see them again. And I felt guilty. Guilty and excited. I had missed them. But never had the courage to go see them without you. Until today. I faced them and felt you. Felt like you could see them through me and that satisfied me. This was the last thing I needed to do to complete the list of things I couldn’t do without you. But now it’s done. Now I can do anything without you.  Now I can no longer say, “the last time I did that was with Daniel.” That statement doesn’t ring true anymore. I’ve completed my right of passage through grief. I hope you enjoyed the view.

Leave a Reply

